Fruit Scones

You will need:

200g self-raising flour

50g caster sugar

50g margarine (flora)

¼ teaspoon salt

100g raisins

1 medium egg

75ml milk

My work surface… 😮

  1. Heat the oven to 220°C. Sift 200g flour into a large bowl. Add 50g caster sugar, ¼ teaspoon salt and 50g flora.
  2. Use a wooden spoon against the side of the glass bowl to rub in the flora. Finish off to a bread crumb consistency using finger tips. Stir in raisins.
  3. Break egg into small bowl. Add 75ml milk. Stir and set aside one tablespoon of mixture for brushing tops of scones.
  4. Pour milk and egg into dry mixture and stir a little. Let it sit for a few minutes to soak up the wet mixture.
  5. Mix it together to form dough. Sprinkle a work surface with flour. Flatten dough on surface to ½ inch thickness. Cut out circles (I made six large ones). Place on baking tray and brush with egg mixture. Bake for ten minutes.
Fruit Scones... Next time I will have icing sugar to dust over them

Fruit Scones… Next time I will have icing sugar to dust over them

For my plain scones I used the same recipe, but they were very wet, so I had to put them in bun tins. I think that the raisins must soak up the milk in the fruit mixture, so I would use less milk if I was using this mixture again for plain scones.

Plain Scones

Plain Scones

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These were good with strawberry jam

 

Recipe Source: Usborne 30 Yummy Things to Bake
Yes, I am learning to bake from children’s baking books. Except ye become as little children and all that 😉

2 thoughts on “Fruit Scones

  1. Pingback: Plain Scones | Horizon: apparent boundary between earth and sky

  2. Pingback: Baking Bucket List | Horizon: apparent boundary between earth and sky

Leave a Reply

