Chocolate crunchy biscuits

I took the recipe for the cookies from “The Children’s Book of Baking” by Sara Lewis, page 54.

Instead of butter I always use Flora, because it’s healthier. When I don’t have caster sugar to hand I just whizz down some normal granulated sugar in a hand blender. Otherwise the recipe is unmodified!

You will need:

100g flora/butter at room temperature

50g caster sugar

2 tbsp cocoa powder (I used Cadbury’s hot chocoate powder, and my tablespoons were generous 🙂 )

150g self raising flour

Image

What I did:

I simply preheated the oven to 180 degree Celsius, tossed all the ingredients in a bowl and worked the butter into the dry mixture with the back of the spoon against the side of the bowl. The I took little chunks of the mixture and spread them onto a sheet covered with greaseproof paper. I pressed some of them with the back of a spoon and others with the back of a fork. You can see the difference below. I popped them in the oven for ten minutes or so, until they were nice and crunchy and browned all over. Then I let them cool on the trays and felt amazed that I had achieved yet another goal: bake cookies from scratch. They tasted incredible 😀

 

Image

These were flattened with the back of a spoon, and I think they look like little clouds. I might cover them with white icing or frosting next time to look like fluffy white clouds!

One thought on “Chocolate crunchy biscuits

  1. Pingback: Baking Bucket List | Horizon: apparent boundary between earth and sky

Leave a Reply

