Little Goals

What do you call a graduate of a post-graduate course? Well I’m one of those. I thought that I would know so much more than I actually do at this stage. Guess what? I have SO-VERY-MANY THINGS that I really want to learn. Little things. Lots of them.

For the past five years of high intensity university work, lots of wouldn’t-it-be-nice thoughts have been floating around my mind, but I have had to put them aside as my studies took pretty much all of my energy and attention. I couldn’t have done it any other way.

But now I’m a graduate, a grown-up. (?!) I’m entering a new season. And this time, I’m making sure that I make time for the little things I love and want to explore.

These little life-goals are very… little. Here’s the first:

#1: Baking

One of these little goals, little things I want to learn, is baking. My Nana is an epic, show-stopping baker. My mom can whip up scones before you can ask “what’s for breakfast?” My baby sister can bake pretty much anything she puts her mind to. For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to learn to bake really well. I have baked cakes off and on, and know that I enjoy it.

Somehow, throughout the course of the next year, I want to develop the kind of skills that will enable me to make baking a part of my everyday life. Simple baking, healthy baking, make-people-happy baking. I’m going to try to bake at least once a week. I’m not sure how practical that will be and it may need to change depending on my living arrangements. But I’ll do my best.

It’s going to be a series of small steps. 🙂

Huge disclaimer for just a minute:

These baking posts are simply my way of logging what I have done so far, so that I can see that I am moving forward towards my little goal. They are NOT intended to instruct anyone in baking. Unless someone reads them and feels encouraged by my haphazard honesty to start small themselves, the posts are not really all that useful to readers. Just in case you were expecting another Delia Smith or Martha Stewart. 😉

Leave a Reply

