Plain Scones

In a previous post I made plain scones but found them too wet. Here I share my modified recipe I tried yesterday morning which uses less milk and was much more successful.

You will need:

200g self-raising flour

50g caster sugar

50g margarine (flora)

¼ teaspoon salt

1 medium egg

45 ml milk 

I think the trick is to only add enough liquid to wet the mixture to the consistency you want, and then stop. That said, I’m no expert.

The proof is in the pudding, as they say, and these scones were both edible and eaten by all members of the family. That’s saying something 😉

Image

In the middle of the picture you can see scones that I brushed with egg/milk mixture before putting in the oven. On the far left you can see scones that I didn’t brush with the mixture. I’d like to be scientific and say it was an experiment, but the truth is that I just plain forgot 🙂 and they both tasted equally nice.

One thought on “Plain Scones

  1. Pingback: Baking Bucket List | Horizon: apparent boundary between earth and sky

Leave a Reply

