This week I am learning…

  • That if I use the “freeze” button on my projector remote I can have the students working on a task from the screen, while I am taking the register on my laptop, It’s the little things that make a huge difference. (My projector was finally fixed so have been able to use a twenty first century teaching strategy for the first time this afternoon: PowerPoint. It made such a difference to behaviour management. I never had to have my back to them while trying to teach.)

 

  • That as a Biology teacher I will be subjected to various forced diagnoses such as the following scenario from this afternoon. Kid walking through the door, shoves his hand up to my eye level, then scrunches it so that lots of strange looking veins pop out of nowhere. His hand instantly looks fifty years older. I think I have a condition miss. Umm, no I don’t think so. Is is a sign of high blood pressure miss? Umm, I don’t think so. Is it terrible miss? Oh dear, just sit down. NEXT?!

 

  • That when you feel at sea as an NQT, asking a lot of different people for a little bit of help in very specific areas gives you much of the support you need. Also the support is likely to come from the people who are best at each of the jobs in question, and nobody feels like you are leeching their time and energy.

 

  • That working as a newly qualified teacher is like climbing a mountain that feels like a treadmill (snakes and ladders anyone?), but the crucial factor that changes the same output from a treadmill to a climb, is a determination to make things better for yourself with each teeny tiny step.

 

  • That I can be very assertive if I am fully convinced of my position. An English teacher-friend gave me some posters to put up in my classroom. One has given me courage (en-COURAGE-d me) many times. “Be sure you put your feet in the right place, then stand firm.” ~Abraham Lincoln. This ability to be quietly assertive when dealing with students and staff alike has surprised me, as I did not know I had it in me. Maybe these things only grow to maturity when they are really needed.

 

  • That sleep is one of the most important ingredients in delivering a good lesson. And the other is the peace of God which surpasses human understanding, which guides my mind and guards my emotions as I literally perform in front of roughly one hundred and fifty youngsters every day.
Leave a Reply

