The Krispie Kraze continues

the krispie kraze continues part 3

Last night I came back to my house after several exhausting days. I was a little tired and stressed for no particular reason, so I did the most obvious and logical thing: I opened my cupboards and baked another version of krispie treats.

Sidenote #1. Ironically enough, I find that when I bake more, I eat less, and I eat less sugar in particular. When I am handling and looking at the food for so long in preparation, I feel more satisfied even before I begin to eat. And that’s GOOD! πŸ™‚ Also when I bake a batch of something sweet, I send a picture of it to sisters or a friend and promise to bring over the batch to eat with them. So then I usually just eat one piece to taste, maybe give a piece to my landlady if she is around, and then put all of the treats away to bring to someone’s house later. It is working for me! πŸ™‚

Sidenote #2. Both recipes that I had used previously had called for butter. It probably contributed to the squidginess of previous batches, and this batch were firmer and more crispy. But I found that I preferred the crisp texture and also that the taste of white chocolate and marshmallow was a lot clearer than when I used the butter. As well as preferring the taste without the butter, I am also a lot happier that the mixture was minus all the calories that come with butter.

Sidenote #3. I left these babies in a (dry, cool) cupboard over night, rather than wrap them up and put them in the fridge. This morning I found that they had set much better, and they certainly hadn’t picked up any fridge odour like I had been worried about before.

And finally… sidenote #4. The secret ingredient! Golden Syrup! Two teaspoons drizzled over the first layer before pouring on the white chocolate. This morning I found that the syrup had dripped down through the mixture and had sweetened the lower layer.

the krispie kraze continues part 3 bowl

Here are my approximate instructions, because I was experimenting I didn’t measure very exactly, but next time I may have exact figures πŸ™‚

  1. Break up a large bar of white chocolate into a bowl placed overΒ  a pot of boiling, steaming water (double boiler). Allow the chocolate to melt, stirring occasionally.
  2. Almost fill a pyrex pint jug with good quality marshmallows, and put in microwave to heat. Watch closely and when you see them expanding quite a bit, pull them out of the microwave and stir in the melted hot chocolate and krispies. You have to do this really quickly, and quite frankly, dealing with hot marshmallows scares the daylights out of me, I’m not sure why I keep coming back for more.
  3. Press this mixture into a heavy glass dish and flatten with a wooden spoon.
  4. Melt some more white chocolate in the double boiler.
  5. While your chocolate is melting, drizzle (very little, maybe two teaspoons, if even) golden syrup onto the first layer of krispies. Spread it out a bit with your teaspoon. You just want a kind of barely-there presence NOT gloopiness that will make your bottom layer soggy. Easy does it.
  6. Pour the melted white chocolate over everything. Everything in the dish, mind you, not everything in the kitchen. This is a beautiful moment.
  7. Because I like to sprinkle something crispy/crunchy on top of any layer of wet chocolate that I have just poured, I sprinkled some more krispies on top at this point. You could leave it without, however I like the added crunch. πŸ˜€
  8. Put your dish into a cupboard and forget about them until you come down for breakfast the next morning. Then dare yourself not to have one for breakfast. After all, they are “cereal bars”!!!
Leave a Reply

