My Little Goals

My hope is that my life would speak clearly of the goodness and wisdom of God. My horizon in this is a pathway of obedience to His direction and surrender to His suggestions. I know that living a life in pursuit of Christ is immensely practical. My spiritual learning must be lived out minute by minute in my everyday life, getting on with my family, being diligent in my work, being creative in my kitchen. Everything I do has the potential to be an act of worship. 

One of my favourite verses is in the last chapter of Zechariah, speaking of a time when “the cooking pots in the Temple of the Lord will be as sacred as the basins used beside the altar. In fact, every cooking pot in Jerusalem and Judah will be holy to the Lord of Heaven’s Armies. All who come to worship will be free to use any of these pots to boil their sacrifices.”

Brother Lawrence was said to do “common business… purely for the love of God.” Jesus went to dinner with His friends, He cooked on the beach, He helped out at a wedding party. Jesus Christ is a real person who lived a very real life on this real earth. As His Spirit is living in us, He expects to be brought into the most mundane and trivial parts of our life, and when we acknowledge Him there with us, whatever we do will be worship.

What do you call a graduate of a post-graduate course? Well I’m one of those. I thought that I would know so much more than I actually do at this stage. Guess what? I have SO-VERY-MANY THINGS that I really want to learn. Little things. Lots of them.

For five years of high intensity university work, lots of wouldn’t-it-be-nice thoughts floated around my mind, but I have had to put them aside as my studies took pretty much all of my energy and attention. I couldn’t have done it any other way. But now I’m a graduate, a grown-up. (?!) I’m in the opening scene of a new season. And this time, I’m making sure that I make time for the little things I love and want to explore.

These little life-goals are very… little. But my God says in Zechariah 4:10 NLT

“Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin.”

This blog is a journal of little steps towards these little goals. I hope that, in the little steps towards little goals, I will learn life and give credit to Christ, the one, after all, to whom all credit is due.

Leave a Reply

