Vegetable frittata

A new way for me to use up leftover vegetables!

So far I have been able to use up vegetables by roasting them and then pureeing them with stock to make soup. Now I have a second way to use up leftover vegetables. I found this recipe a while ago on Living Well Spending Less and saved it on Pinterest. Now I can add it to my “pinned there, done that” board! It is not the prettiest but tastes good and healthy.

This is a genuine “leftovers” recipe for me, and I adapted Ruth’s recipe to fit what I had in my fridge. I have documented exactly what I used (three eggs, some broccoli, a few carrots, one courgette/zucchini, a few handfuls grated white cheddar cheese). When I do this next, I think red peppers and tomato would replace the carrot well, and I am looking forward to making a Spanish omelet version with cooked, diced potato also.

Ruth sauteed all her veg from the start, but I felt better about steaming my veg then just tipping them into the pan for cooking with the egg mixture. Also, to crisp up the upper side of the frittata, I popped mine under the grill for a few minutes.

Here is what I used:

onion

carrots

courgette

broccoli

sunflower oil

dried basil

salt and pepper

3 eggs

~150ml milk

grated white cheddar

1. Prepare vegetables (wash, peel, dice) and steam for ten minutes.

steamveg steam veg

2. Dice onion and saute in sunflower oil.

onion saute onion

3. In a jug, beat eggs and milk. Add basil, salt and pepper and a handful or two of grated cheese.

salt pepper basil 3 eggs, handful cheese 150ml milk salt and pepper

4. When the vegetables are cooked and tender, tip them into the pan with the onion. Pour the egg mixture over the top. Cover with a lid and allow to cook for fifteen to twenty minutes on low heat.

tip veg into pan pour egg mixture cover and cook cooking2

5. Sprinkle some more cheese on top of your frittata and pop under the grill for a few minutes until the cheese is browned and bubbling 🙂

cheese and grill cheese and grill2 cheese and grill3 cheese and grill4   slice2 slice

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

