Kitchen Skills: that poor chicken

DSC_0353

Today I took apart a raw chicken for the first time…

{PS. I promise myself I will get better at this. This is a first attempt.}

DSC_0354 DSC_0355

I tried to use a knife, and then three different knives, and none of them worked for me, so I used a scissors to remove the legs. And then everything else. DSC_0356

I kind of freaked myself out with the wings. I flapped those wings up and down, watching in horror as the bird’s joints moved freely, finding myself utterly fascinated with the anatomy of the bird.

DSC_0357 DSC_0358 DSC_0359 DSC_0360 DSC_0361 DSC_0362

After all my flapping about, I couldn’t remove the wings. My mom called in the middle of this and I said “sorry Mom, can’t talk, I’m dissecting a chicken. I can’t get the wings off.” Apparently they are the hardest part to remove, and have very little meat on them anyway, so I just left them on.

DSC_0363I’m not sure whether I was supposed to or not, but I skinned the breast, and had a eureka moment when I saw the two chicken breasts in situ, not in a plastic box, but as they are found in the bird. I also found this cool. Excuse me, I’m a Biology teacher. I removed the breasts also with the scissors.

DSC_0367

What was left of the chicken I put into a box to freeze, and I plan to make stock with it in the next few days.

So for four euro, I got a top quality chicken (Moy Park), and from this chicken I got two legs and two breasts, which for me is four meals, plus a LOT of material to make good homemade stock.

So four euro for at least five meals. Not bad.

DSC_0371

As you can tell, I’m a rookie at this. Here are some of the places I went to for instruction:

 

Now I can add this to my Pinned there, done that board! 🙂

Leave a Reply

