Work as Worship

In my quest to increase my repertoire of kitchen skills and experience, I am finding equal measures of satisfaction and challenge. I find my curiosity kindled and my interest growing with each step. This fuels a sort of work ethic so that it does not ever feel like work. I love being in my kitchen, researching for my work in the kitchen, sharing the products of my kitchen.  Because, for so many years, I wanted so much to be able to put time into learning these skills, now that I can learn and work at it I just feel ecstatic.

Now, if only I could see my teaching preparation as service to Jesus.

Do my work for the Lord and not for people. Like my prayer lists and laundry and meal plans. Do schemes of work for Jesus. Make Junior Cert resources and Leaving Cert resources and Transition Year resources and present them to Jesus.

I know that no one but Him is watching in my kitchen, but I give it faithfulness and flair and I love every minute and I present it to Him as worship.

I can take my school preparation and now, while no one but Him is watching, I can worship through my work. I can say no to procrastination and I can pour myself into preparation and I can pray over my work and I can push through in perseverance – and present it all to Jesus for His pleasure.

 

Here are some verses from the New Testament that speak about work (NLT)…

Romans 12:11
Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically.

1 Corinthians 15:58
So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless.

2 Corinthians 12:9
Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.

Galatians 6:4
Pay careful attention to your own work, for then you will get the satisfaction of a job well done, and you won’t need to compare yourself to anyone else.

Ephesians 4:16
He makes the whole body fit together perfectly. As each part does its own special work, it helps the other parts grow, so that the whole body is healthy and growing and full of love.

Ephesians 4:28
If you are a thief, quit stealing. Instead, use your hands for good hard work, and then give generously to others in need.

Ephesians 6:7
Work with enthusiasm, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.

Philippians 2:13
For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.

Colossians 3:23
Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.

1 Thessalonians 4:11
Make it your goal to live a quiet life, minding your own business and working with your hands, just as we instructed you before.

2 Timothy 2:15
Work hard so you can present yourself to God and receive his approval. Be a good worker, one who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly explains the word of truth.

2 Timothy 2:21
If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honourable use. Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work.

2 John 1:8
Watch out that you do not lose what we have worked so hard to achieve. Be diligent so that you receive your full reward.

Leave a Reply

