Flexible baking: Scones on the grill

Yesterday I just couldn’t take it any longer.

I needed to make scones.

DSC_0528

I don’t have ready access to an oven in my current accommodation and I have got around this so far. But there comes a point in my kitchen calendar when I just have to make scones. I don’t know why. Scones just feel like home to me. Making scones to me is something functional and basic and just… normal. And so if I can’t make scones, it is a bit weird. Which makes me a bit weird. But I never claimed to be explainable. 🙂

So I decided that I needed to make scones. Except that I had to use the grill instead of the oven.

So I mixed up my normal plain scones recipe, I didn’t bother to roll out the dough, and I shaped the dough into golf balls. I flattened these between my palms and put them on a baking tray. I flattened them so that they were thinner than normal scones, because I wasn’t sure how well thick well-risen scones would bake all the way through under a grill.

DSC_0505 DSC_0506 DSC_0507 DSC_0510

Now I need to remind you that this is a first-attempt post and I’m telling you exactly what happened. So I had the grill up high, because I wasn’t sure what to expect. I found that the scones blackened on top after only two to three minutes. So the next time I did this I started the grill on low and I didn’t have this problem again.

I turned the scones over at this point, to let them cook evenly. Remember, the heat is only coming from above, not all around them like in an oven. Later when I checked them I saw that they were almost there, but not quite in the middle, so I split them open. They literally just pulled apart in my fingers. I let them toast away like that for a minute or two.

DSC_0511 DSC_0512  DSC_0514 DSC_0516 DSC_0517 DSC_0518 These were lovely to serve up fresh, but they didn’t hold for later. Time for a second attempt!

DSC_0528

DSC_0531

Here is (an awful picture that I took with sticky fingers to show) the “flattened loaf” shaped scone cake that I put under the grill. I kept the grill on low this time, and I had no burning.

DSC_0533 DSC_0541 DSC_0546This second variation was more like bread. The slices were perfect to split apart and eat with scrambled eggs and baked tomatoes for tonight’s supper. For some reason, this variation of the same recipe held much better and tasted as fresh the next day.

DSC_0549

This is by no means a finished process, it is merely attempt #1 as I learn to bake on my grill, and use the facilities I have available to me in my kitchen.

2 thoughts on “Flexible baking: Scones on the grill

  1. Pingback: Herb & Tomato Sconebread | Horizon: apparent boundary between earth and sky

Leave a Reply

