Weekends are for French toast

DSC_0502

One of those mornings where I wake up and I can’t see properly, let alone think clearly. I shove my glasses somewhere onto my nose and shuffle down the stairs. Open the cupboard. Feel around for the end of the loaf of soda bread I saw in the cupboard last night. Shuffle across to the fridge and pull out the box of eggs.

Slice up that soda bread carefully into even slices. It is old and crusty and just perfect for french toast.

Go back to the cupboard for some golden syrup to dip the finished toast in. DSC_0497 DSC_0498Eyes begin to focus as I mix up the eggs. A splash of milk and a sprinkle of cinnamon later, I feel a little more alive. DSC_0500Slices of crusty bread dipped and soaked a little in the egginess, then placed in a hot pan. DSC_0501

Now this is a breakfast worth waking up for. I got my recipe here… DSC_0502 DSC_0504

Leave a Reply

