Crocheting with string…

I’m looking into crocheting with different materials. Using the same stitches, but trying to find materials that are more durable or less expensive  or more suited to the purpose…

Here is my first idea… making a durable table mat, which should be somewhat heatproof, using string. It is just parcel string, I found it in Tesco for about two euro a roll.

March 2014 199So far it is coaster-sized, but I will keep going to make a mat big enough to sit under a serving dish.

March 2014 203Of course, it is, as always, my beloved Granny Square pattern. My little sister has taken to calling me nerdy Granny when she wants to rise me, because of my apparently innumerable idiosyncrasies, not least of which are the inexcusable facts that I wear large spectacles and love to crochet and cook.

March 2014 208 I would like to record that I am in my early twenties. Not that it even matters. Nerdy Granny. Pshaw.

I continued crocheting on the bus going home. I finished the mat when the roll of string ran out.

DSC_0425 DSC_0427 DSC_0428 DSC_0429 DSC_0430 DSC_0431

Leave a Reply

