Herb & Tomato Sconebread

DSC_0402This is a story about flexible baking, about making tiny loaves of bread from a scone dough and calling it {sconebread}. This is a story about loving cherry tomatoes and the fragrance of herbs at any time of the morning.

As my stories invariably begin, it was morning time and the first thing I wanted to do when I woke up was mix up a scone dough.

You see, I knew from a few days ago that it was possible for me to bake scones on my grill. I had also found that the loaf shape baked better on my grill than individual scones. And last night when I was planning my meals for the week, I had pulled out the mixed herbs to go into the meatballs I hope to make sometime in the next few days (with wholewheat spaghetti, another first for me!). And I had bought yet another carton of cherry tomatoes because some things are just necessary for a happy week.

So this morning when my groggy-but-bent-on-creativity brain sent me to the cupboard to pull out the self raising flour and the salt and sugar, those mixed dried herbs just stared me down.

And I thought about the lovely fresh tomatoes even as I opened the bag of raisins for my usual breakfast scone mix.

So I divided the dough into two portions: one for a small loaf of raisin studded breakfast sconebread, and another for mixed dried herbs and chopped up tomatoes. My oh my, was it ever worth it.

DSC_0403I used my usual plain scone mixture, with reduced sugar content, because of health and because I didn’t want a sweet dough anyway.

makes six large scones or two small loaves:

  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 50g flora (or margarine or butter)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt (or just a good pinch of salt)
  • medium egg
  • splash of milk

Now when I say literally I mean literally a “splash” of milk and here is why: I measure everything else, then I use the egg to bring the mixture together as much as possible, and then I add a tiny splash of milk and then another if needed until the dough is just right. I find that it is far too easy to add too much milk and it is harder to rescue a too-wet mixture than to just add the milk very gradually until I have added enough.

Now I divided my mixture into two different portions at this point. Tomorrow I will post the recipe and photos for the Raisin-studded Sconebread. Today I will show you how to make the Herb and Tomato Bread. This mixture will give you enough for two little loaves. If you are using an oven, go ahead and make individual scones if you would like.

DSC_0409

Herb & tomato sconebread:

  • You will need about four cherry tomatoes per loaf and two teaspoons of dried herbs per loaf.
  • Cut tomatoes into quarters.
  • Scatter dried herbs and quartered tomatoes over the dough.
  • Gently fold into the dough.
  • This dough will be a lot wetter than the raisin mixture because of the juice from the tomatoes.
  • Sprinkle some coarse sea salt salt and grind some black pepper on top of the loaf before putting under the grill at low to medium heat for five minutes, watching closely for burning.
  • After five minutes turn the loaf over so that the base is exposed to the grill… after another five minutes the loaf should be baked through. After baking it will be lovely and fragrant because of the herbs. Your kitchen will smell divine.

 

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much I enjoyed baking, eating and sharing it.

Leave a Reply

