Flexible baking: Raisin-studded Sconebread

Yesterday I told you a story about my heavenly herb and tomato sconebread. Today I show you my other sconebread, just perfect for breakfast or supper with jam and tea.

DSC_0405

Here is the recipe for the scone dough. Now I divided my mixture into two different portions and made two varieties. This mixture will give you enough for two little loaves. If you are using an oven, go ahead and make individual scones if you would like.

makes six large scones or two small loaves:

  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 50g flora (or margarine or butter)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt (or just a good pinch of salt)
  • medium egg
  • splash of milk (literally a “splash”:  I measure everything else, then I use the egg to bring the mixture together as much as possible, and then I add a tiny splash of milk and then another if needed until the dough is just right)
  • At this point I divided into two portions to make little loaves.
  • Incorporate a fistful of raisins into the dough for one loaf, two fistfuls for two loaves.
  • Shape into a little loaf, pat down into a dish or onto a baking tray.
  • Sprinkle some milk on top.

DSC_0388

Put under low to medium heat grill for five minutes, watching closely for burning.

DSC_0390

After five minutes turn the loaf over so that the base is exposed to the grill… after five minutes the loaf should be baked through.

DSC_0410

Leave a Reply

