Christmas Baking

Christmas Baking

Christmas Baking: Candy Cane Krispie Cupcakes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Christmas Cupcakes with Marshmallow Snow

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Christmas Baking: Butterscotch Apple Pudding

Christmas Baking

The day before Christmas Eve my parents had guests coming over so I took the chance to make some recipes which I wouldn’t usually make alone. I had made candy cane krispie treats last year taking my inspiration from this recipe and decided to develop the theme a little. I portioned out the mixture into bun cases instead of a slab/large dish. I topped some with melted marshmallow to look like snow and then popped a mini candy cane on top. They were very sticky and very sweet but looked great! 🙂

I also took the opportunity to make a Rachel Allen recipe which I have wanted to make for a long time: Butterscotch Apple Pudding (Everyday Food). It was delicious, and tasted like warm toffee, apples and cake in a bowl served with whipped cream on top. I would make this again for guests.

I also made Rachel Allen’s Spanish Chicken (Everyday Food) for the dinner, which was so easy to make for a crowd: I just doubled the quantities she called for. It was also very popular.

My sisters and I attacked a gingerbread house kit with lots of royal icing and too many sweets and four different ideas of what a gingerbread house should look like. The result:

Christmas House

Christmas House

Christmas house

Christmas House

I am hoping to continue with developing my kitchen repertoire. I don’t publish them all here because school nights are very busy but I am compiling a list of completed dishes.

I pin a lot of recipes on my Pinterest boards so please feel free to help yourself to a pin or two!

I am also very excited that my Christmas present from my parents this year was a slow cooker. My sisters are still shaking their heads in disbelief but I am excited to learn to use it well. I hope to make homemade stock and soups and a lot of good casseroles in it. I think I will start with this one from Simply Recipes.

I hope anyone who is reading this enjoyed a peaceful Christmas and is hopeful for good things to happen and good habits to be formed in 2015.

🙂

Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

